3 Important Car Accident Laws Every Florida Motorist Should Know
Unfortunately, given the huge number of drivers in Florida, there is a probability that every Florida motorist will be involved in a car accident at some point in their life. Because of this, Florida motorists must remain aware of laws that pertain to car accidents. By understanding the different laws that pertain to Florida car accidents, you can better protect your rights if or when you get into a car accident. In this article, we will discuss three Florida laws that can highly impact your car accident case.
The requirement to Report a Florida Car Accident
According to Florida statute 316.065(1), it is a requirement for Florida drivers to report any car accident they are involved in if the accident results in:
- injury or
- vehicle or other property damage of $500 or more
If such an accident happens within a municipality, a driver must report it to the local police department. On the other hand, if such an accident doesn’t happen within a municipality, a driver must report it to the county sheriff, the closest station, or the office of the Florida Highway Patrol.
Florida’s No-Fault Insurance System
As a Floridian motorist, you need to turn to your insurance company after a car crash. Regardless of which party caused the car crash, you need to seek compensation from your insurance company after a car accident. You can only file a claim against an at-fault driver if your case meets specific requirements. If you suffer severe injuries and your accident causes more damages than your insurance policy can cover, you may be able to file a claim against an at-fault party.
According to Florida statute 627.737, a severe injury consists in whole or part of:
- Significant and long-term loss of a crucial bodily function
- Significant and long-term scarring
- A permanent injury that falls within a logical degree of medical likelihood, other than disfigurement
As of July 2021, all Florida motorists are required to carry at least $10,000 of personal injury protection (PIP coverage). After an accident, PIP coverage pays 80% of all reasonable medical expenses up to the policy limit if a motorist receives initial medical treatment within 14 days after their accident. PIP coverage also pays 60% of lost wages up to the policy limit and $5,000 in death benefits.
It is crucial for you to note that if a driver doesn’t have an “emergency medical condition,” they will only receive $2,500 in PIP benefits for their medical treatment.
Legal Help Is Available
If you were in a Florida car crash, you need to reach out to a skilled and dedicated attorney that understands the laws pertaining to car accidents. An attorney can assess your case and advice you on how to proceed. With the help of a skilled Florida attorney, you can determine whether to file a claim with your insurance company or a claim against an at-fault party’s insurance company. Our West Palm Beach personal injury attorneys at The Pendas Law firm would love to speak to you about your case and help you take necessary action. We can help you deal with your insurance company or an at-fault party’s insurance company and avoid settling for less than you deserve. Contact The Pendas Law Firm today to schedule a free, no-obligation consultation.
The Pendas Law Firm also represents clients in the Orlando, Fort Lauderdale, Ocala, Miami, Jacksonville, Tampa, Daytona Beach, Bradenton, and Fort Myers areas.