Ride-Share Accidents: Do Ride-Share Companies Compensate Passengers After Accidents?
Any Floridian who uses ride-sharing services can attest that such services are affordable and extremely convenient. Unfortunately, even though using Uber or Lyft is a convenient and affordable way for Floridians to move around, just like any other cars, vehicles that motorists working with Uber or Lyft operate are prone to auto accidents.
So, what happens when you are a passenger in a ride-share vehicle and are involved in an accident? As a passenger, can a ride-share company compensate you for the severe injuries you sustain in a ride-share accident? Keep reading to find out.
Florida Bill Expects Rideshare Companies/Drivers to Have Insurance Policies
A Florida bill that became effective on July 1, 2017 requires ride-share motorists or companies to have enough insurance policies. The amount of coverage a ride-share motorist should carry is generally more than the amount of coverage a regular Florida driver is expected to have. Ordinarily, motorists need to have a minimum of $10,000 in Personal Injury Protection insurance and $10,000 in Property Damage Liability insurance. On the other hand, according to Florida law, ride-share companies/drivers need to have;
- Liability coverage of at least $100,000 for bodily injury and death per accident.
- Liability coverage of at least $50,000 for bodily injury and death per person.
- Liability coverage of at least $25,000 for property damage.
Florida law expects a ride-share motorist to be covered by the above when their ride-share app is on, but they don’t have a passenger in the vehicle. Additional liability coverage of at least $1 million is needed to cover a driver if an accident occurs when they have a passenger in the car or when they are on their way to pick a passenger.
Ride-share companies usually provide generous insurance coverages for motorists that work with their companies. Uber, for instance, gives motorists insurance policies that equal the amounts outlined by the Florida law.
Can Uber or Lyft Compensate a Passenger After an Accident?
A ride-share accident can be confusing. Therefore, you should, without hesitation, contact a qualified attorney when involved in such an accident. An attorney can help determine whether you are eligible for compensation and help you obtain the compensation you deserve.
If, as a passenger, you qualify for compensation after a ride-share accident, you should take comfort in knowing that you are covered under the $1 million insurance policy. Therefore, after a ride-share accident, you can seek compensation from the $1 million insurance coverage provided by ride-share companies. Because of such insurance coverage, you stand a high chance of receiving the compensation you deserve.
Contact an Attorney Today
At The Pendas Law Firm, we understand how confusing ride-share accidents can be. After an accident, you might feel confused about the steps you need to take to ensure you are fairly compensated. Our Miami personal injury lawyers at the Pendas Law Firm can listen to your case, analyze it and advise you accordingly. If you are eligible for compensation, our team can help you get the compensation you deserve. Contact us today to schedule a consultation and receive the legal help you need.
The Pendas Law Firm represents clients who are also in the West Palm Beach, Daytona Beach, Orlando, Ocala, Fort Myers, Jacksonville, Tampa, Bradenton, and Fort Lauderdale areas.