Here’s Why You Should Seek Medical Treatment Within 14 Days Of Your Florida Motor Vehicle Accident
The first thing you should do after a motor vehicle accident is to seek medical attention. Even when you believe you haven’t been injured, you need to seek medical help as soon as possible after your accident because failure to seek medical assistance after a car accident can bear negative consequences. For example, if you don’t seek medical treatment on time, your injuries could worsen. Also, in Florida, waiting to seek medical attention can affect your chances of recovering compensation.
Florida’s No-Fault Law
According to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, Florida motorists should possess Personal Injury Protection (PIP) automobile insurance. Florida drivers are required to have at least $10,000 in PIP coverage. Generally, as a motorist with PIP coverage, you are supposed to turn to your insurance company for compensation after a motor vehicle accident.
According to Florida Statute 627.736, as long as an insurance policy complies with the set requirements, a claimant is entitled to receive the following compensatory damages after a Florida auto accident.
- Medical expenses
- Lost wages
- Lost earning capacity
- Death benefits
Death benefits are usually paid to;
- Executors or administrators of deceased individuals
- Deceased individuals’ relatives
- Any people equitably entitled to such benefits
PIP’s 14-Day Rule
The PIP’s 14-day rule requires an injured person who plans on obtaining compensation from their PIP automobile insurance coverage to seek medical treatment within 14 days of their auto accident.
Failure to seek medical treatment within 14 days of a car accident can make a person ineligible to receive medical benefits. If, after a Florida car accident, you fail to seek medical treatment within 14 days, your insurance company might deny your claim. In case your insurer denies your PIP claim, you might end up having to face losses because of having to pay your medical bills from your pockets. On the other hand, if you obtain medical treatment within 14 days of your accident, you can receive the maximum payout available from your PIP coverage if you suffered an emergency medical condition. In the case of a non-emergency injury, you will most likely only get $2,500 in medical benefits.
Waiting to seek medical treatment can also adversely affect your chances of receiving compensation for lost wages or loss of earning capacity. If you wait to seek medical help, your insurance company might argue that the accident did not cause you to miss work.
Therefore, to sum it up, you need to seek medical treatment within 14 days of your Florida motor vehicle accident to protect your right to receive PIP benefits.
Legal Help Is Available
If you were in a Florida motor vehicle accident and need help filing a PIP claim, ensure you reach out to a skilled personal injury attorney. You should also consult an attorney if you are wondering whether you can sue the motorist you believe acted negligently and caused the accident that led to your severe injuries. Our Orlando personal injury attorneys at The Pendas Law Firm have years of experience dealing with PIP claims and claims made against other drivers. We can help you obtain the compensation you deserve. Contact us today to schedule a free, no-obligation consultation.
The Pendas Law Firm also represents clients in the Tampa, Miami, Ocala, West Palm Beach, Fort Myers, Jacksonville, Bradenton, Daytona Beach, and Fort Lauderdale areas.