FAQs About Florida’s PIP Insurance Coverage
In Florida, motorists are usually expected to file claims with their own insurance companies after auto accidents, regardless of who caused the accident. For a motorist to file a claim from their insurance company after an accident, they must have personal injury protection (PIP) insurance coverage.
To help you understand more about PIP, we have answered below a few of the most frequently asked questions about Florida’s PIP insurance coverage.
Who Does PIP Insurance Cover?
PIP coverage automatically covers car owners. Florida PIP can also cover car owners’ household members.
What Does Florida PIP Insurance Cover?
According to the law, PIP insurance covers;
- Medical benefits
- Disability benefits
- Death benefits
In Florida, PIP coverage pays only up to 80% of a person’s medical costs after an accident. PIP can cover up to 80% of any medically necessary surgery you undergo after an accident. The insurance coverage can also cover up to 80% of the cost spent on rehab, diagnostic services, ambulatory services, medication, and many other acceptable medical services.
It is important to note that PIP does not cover some widely unacceptable treatments. For example, PIP cannot cover acupuncture.
PIP usually pays victims who cannot work and earn an income after an accident 60% of their lost wages. Such a benefit is limited to a maximum of $10,000. Under disability benefits, PIP also compensates victims for paying other people to provide them with services they would have normally provided for themselves were it not for their injuries.
If an auto accident leads to an insurance policy holder’s death, PIP coverage can pay up to $5,000 for funeral and burial expenses.
What Does the 14-Day Rule Mean?
Generally, to file a PIP insurance claim, a victim needs to seek medical attention within 14 days after their accident. Failure to seek medical attention within two weeks can lead to the denial of a claim.
Can I File a PIP Claim if My Injury Is Not Considered an Emergency?
The maximum PIP payout of 80% mostly relates to emergency medical conditions. If your injury is not considered an emergency medical condition, you can still file a PIP claim, but reimbursement in such a case is limited to $2,500.
What If My PIP Coverage Is Not Enough to Pay for My Medical Costs?
If your PIP insurance is not enough to pay for your medical costs, you have the right to sue an at-fault party. However, you can only sue an at-fault party if your injury qualifies as a severe injury. Usually, such injuries are life-altering.
Therefore, to protect yourself, you should purchase additional PIP insurance. The minimum PIP coverage motorists need to carry is $10,000, but motorists can better protect themselves and/or their loved ones if they purchase additional insurance.
Contact an Orlando Personal Injury Lawyer Today
Even when seeking compensation from your insurance company, you need to work with an experienced personal injury lawyer. Insurance adjusters are cunning and can trick you in several ways. Our experienced Orlando personal injury lawyers at the Pendas Law Firm can help you file your PIP claim and receive fair compensation. Contact us today to schedule a free, no-obligation consultation.
The Pendas Law Firm also represents clients in the Ocala, West Palm Beach, Tampa, Bradenton, Fort Lauderdale, Daytona Beach, Fort Myers, Miami, and Jacksonville areas.