Do You Have To Call 911 After A Florida Motor Vehicle Accident?
One thing that habitually follows after a motor vehicle accident is calling 911. After being a victim of a motor vehicle accident, it seems second to nature that you would call the police or ask someone else to do that if you cannot do it yourself. But, do you have to call 911 after a Florida motor vehicle accident? Read on to find out.
Understanding the Duty To Report a Motor Vehicle Accident in Florida
According to Florida Statute 316.065(1), Florida motorists have a legal obligation to report motor vehicle accidents under certain circumstances. According to the law, a motorist must report a motor vehicle accident using the fastest means of communication if the accident resulted in injury or death or damage to any property in an apparent amount of at least $500.
So, do you have to call 911 after a Florida motor vehicle accident? Even though Florida law only requires a driver to report an accident immediately by the fastest means of communication when an accident results in injury, death, or property damage of at least $500, it is a good idea always to call 911 after a Florida motor vehicle accident. Remember, according to Florida Law, motorists have a duty to give information and render aid. Even if an accident does not involve property damage of at least $500 or death, calling 911 can ensure you satisfy this duty. Failing to render aid is a noncriminal traffic violation, punishable as a nonmoving violation. Therefore, even when in doubt, it would be wise for you to call 911 to satisfy your duty to give information and render aid.
It is worth noting that most motor vehicle accidents in Florida involve some injury and property damage of at least $500. This means that the law requiring drivers to report motor vehicle accidents to the police (Florida Statute 316.065(1)) applies to most motor vehicle accidents in Florida.
Benefits of Calling 911 After a Florida Motor Vehicle Accident
Apart from helping you satisfy your duty to report an accident, give information, and render aid, calling 911 after a motor vehicle accident can help you protect your right to compensation. A police report can help you support your claim for damages in a personal injury lawsuit. Additionally, a police report can speed up the claims process and help you get paid faster by the insurance company.
Seek Help From Our West Palm Beach Personal Injury Attorneys
After a motor vehicle accident, apart from reporting your accident to the police, you want to make sure you hire the right legal representative who can help you with your accident case, especially if someone else’s negligence caused your accident. Because Florida’s statute of limitations limits the amount of time you have to file a personal injury lawsuit, you need to speak to an attorney immediately after a Florida motor vehicle accident. Our West Palm Beach personal injury attorneys at The Pendas Law Firm can help you with your case. We can help you hold an at-fault party accountable and obtain the compensation you deserve. Contact us today to schedule a free consultation.
The Pendas Law Firm also represents clients in the Ocala, Orlando, Tampa, Jacksonville, Daytona Beach, Bradenton, Miami, Fort Myers, and Fort Lauderdale areas.