Daytona Beach Uninsured Motorist Lawyer
Florida Auto Accident Lawyer Assisting Injured Plaintiffs with Uninsured Motorist Claims
Anyone who drives in the state of Florida is required by law to have auto insurance. Each person must carry a minimum amount of liability insurance, as well as personal injury protection coverage. More specifically, a Florida driver must carry liability insurance of at least $10,000 bodily injury coverage per person in a single accident, $20,000 bodily injury coverage for all people in a single accident, $10,000 of property damage coverage in a single accident, and $10,000 personal injury protection (PIP) coverage. As you can see, there is no requirement in Florida to have uninsured motorist (UM) or underinsured motorist (UIM) coverage. However, under Florida law (Fla. Stat. § 627.727), an insurance policy holder must actually decline this type of coverage if they do not want to pay the premiums.
While Florida drivers may not be required to carry uninsured motorist coverage, this particular type of coverage can be necessary when an uninsured driver causes an accident and serious injuries. If you need assistance with an uninsured motorist claim, an experienced Daytona Beach uninsured motorist lawyer can discuss your options with you.
What is Uninsured Motorist Coverage in Daytona Beach?
Uninsured motorist coverage is designed to provide drivers with an option for financial compensation in the event that they are injured in an accident caused by an uninsured motorist. While it is unlawful to drive in the state of Florida without insurance, accidents are caused more frequently than you might think by drivers who do not meet Florida’s insurance requirements.
It is important to know that uninsured motorist coverage is different from underinsured motorist coverage. Unlike uninsured motorist coverage, underinsured motorist coverage is designed to provide compensation when a negligent driver’s insurance policy cannot adequately cover all losses in an accident. In such a situation, that driver might be said to be underinsured. For instance, Florida requires drivers to carry a minimum of $20,000 in liability coverage for all persons injured in a single crash. If a driver causes a severe accident in which multiple parties are seriously injured, the losses of all injury victims are likely to total more than $20,000. The negligent driver may be underinsured in this situation.
What Should I Do If I Cannot File an Uninsured Motorist Claim in Daytona Beach?
If you do not have uninsured motorist coverage and cannot obtain fair compensation through your own insurance, it may be possible to file a lawsuit. Typically, drivers who do not have insurance will not have any assets to cover damages in a lawsuit. In some cases, however, a lawsuit could make sense. An experienced uninsured motorist lawyer in Daytona Beach can provide you with additional information.
Contact an Uninsured Motorist Lawyer in Daytona Beach
Getting hurt in an accident caused by an uninsured motorist can be devastating. Although Florida is a no-fault state when it comes to car accidents and auto insurance, you may not be eligible to obtain full compensation from your PIP coverage alone. By filing an uninsured motorist claim, you may be able to obtain financial compensation for your losses. If you do not have uninsured motorist coverage, or if your claim was denied, an aggressive uninsured motorist attorney in Daytona Beach can speak with you about your options for an appeal or filing a car accident lawsuit. Contact The Pendas Law Firm to learn more.